Rest well, dear friend

I just learned that a friend of mine passed away. A beloved and joyous soul, and a remarkable cellist and teacher, I only crossed paths in real life with Sonja a handful of times. I don’t believe she had even turned 40.

My last direct interaction with her was a year ago when she hitched a ride with me to Newport to rehearse and perform with the Newport Symphony. We enjoyed spirited discussion during the drive about music, life, travel, and wonder.

Here we are joyously playing string quintets that weekend.

I am reminded how short, precious, and fragile life is. Again.

The world is a slightly quieter and more somber place without her, but her jubilant light will continue to burn brightly.

1 thought on “Rest well, dear friend

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.