A Wind from the Past

Summary: After a decade of silence, the flute makes a sonorous return into my life

When I was young, I took private music lessons on violin, piano, and flute. My father and I played dinner music in a restaurant in my hometown every Friday night when I was in high school. I’d play violin and flute and he’d play piano and accordion.

Performing dinner music with my father in the early 80s

Violin emerged as my primary instrument, until I picked up the viola in my late 20s and was forever hooked. I’ve performed with the Newport Symphony for over 18 years (click here to see my next performances), and I enjoy playing string quartets and quintets with many of my very talented friends.

I do pull out my violin on occasion, and although it seems so small (I jokingly call it my “larval viola”), I do enjoy being reminded of its sound and agility.

But what about the flute?

It’s been over a decade since I played my flute. In fact, I sold my flute to a neighbor who really wanted to play it. I wasn’t using it, so why not?

Then I heard an alto flute.

It was about a decade ago when I was performing in a pit orchestra for a production of Stephen Sondheim’s “Company.” The opening strains of the moving, heartbreaking song, “Sorry Grateful” feature the mournful, mellow sounds of the alto flute.

I was captivated. To me, it sounded like a viola-flute.

So, what is an alto flute?

An alto flute is longer, bigger, and lower than a standard concert or C flute. A C flute is about 3/4″ (1.9cm) in diameter, whereas an alto flute is 1″ (2.54cm) in diameter. Also, a C flute is 26.5″ (67.3cm) long, and an alto flute is 34″ (86.3cm).

An alto flute doesn’t project as much sound as a C flute. They are rarely ever seen or heard in orchestras or bands. You might get to see one in jazz music.

Anyway, my friend Mitch, who owns a multitude of instruments was moving overseas and had to find homes for his musical menagerie. He had an alto flute and agreed to trade it to me in exchange for some computer work.

That was just a couple weeks ago (I also got a theremin from him, an amazing and unusual instrument I will likely write about soon).

Trying out my new alto flute with Mitch Iimori on ukulele

Before he left, Mitch and I got together to play for fun.

Less than a week later, I attended an outdoor performance of the Tualatin Valley Community Band. I wanted to see and support a coworker who plays in the group.

The Tualatin Valley Community Band performing at Cook Park

Looking over the program, I saw a name I recognized from my distant past. It was my flute teacher — from over 40 years ago!

Of course, I went up and introduced myself. We were so delighted to reconnect!

Reuniting with my flute teacher of over 40 years ago!

During my most recent online karaoke party, I decided to give performing on the alto flute for others a try.

Performing Rêverie by Debussy on alto flute

When out of practice, playing a C flute for the first time can leave one lightheaded and dizzy. The alto flute requires even more air, and the piece I chose to play was a transcription I wrote of Debussy’s “Rêverie.”

The long, sustained notes stretched my lung capacity to the limit. I was left gasping with a light headache and dizziness for at least 15 minutes after I was done. But it was worth it.

I’m smitten. Whereas as the viola has lured me away from the violin, the low, velvety tones of the alto flute have brought me back to the cousin of a long-neglected wind instrument.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.